top of page

Finding Balance as a Student Affairs Educator

Balance is defined as "a satisfying, healthy, and productive life that includes work, play, and love; that integrates a range of life activities with attention to self and to personal and spiritual development; and that expresses a person's unique wishes, interests and values" As I begin my journey as a student affairs educator I am learning that balance is not black and white, it is tricky, and it a challenge for even the most seasoned professionals. While balance is so integral, I believe it is a challenge due to the caring nature of those in student affairs. Generally, we are passionate and have the drive to support and guide students. This passion is a double edge sword, while it helps us in our professional lives in can also prevent from achieving balance. As a graduate student the most memorable moment that has helped to define the way I see balance was the words from a panelist in one of my classes. I can't remember the panelist's name but I remember the statement "you are not your job". This resonated with me since I believe that balance is strongly influenced by one’s values and identity. I value my role as a student affairs educator and see it has a key piece to my identity. However, this is not the only aspect that makes me who I am. I am not solely a student affairs educator; I am a daughter, sister, and a friend, a lover of books and the arts just to name a few. As a professional, balance would be me being able honor and make time for my various values and identities.

Currently, balance has not been something I have achieved to a desirable level. As a graduate student large portions of my time and energy have been devoted to my education and building work experience at my job and internship. Since a large portion of my attention is diverted to this, my other areas of value are lacking from my relationships and my areas of interest. While this is not successful long-term, it can be deemed acceptable due to the fact that my time as a student is temporary.

As I begin to enter the field of student affairs I have concerns with devoting too much time into my position. I am passionate and care deeply about student’s and the field that I am entering. I think that this passion will make it hard to practice self-care and develop and grow in other areas of my life.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page